#366/366 – The Year in Review

Well, that’s all folks.  It’s finished.

I’d like to thank you for reading, for commenting, and most of all for your prayers.  Tending to this site each day has been a labor of love and dedication that wouldn’t have existed had God not been behind it.  I hope you have gained as much through the journey as I have.  2016 will always be known in my family as the year of the blog.  I’d like to thank my wife, Tammy, for waiting patiently as I wrote each day and encouraging me to fight to good fight.  I’d like to thank my kids who had decreased “dad-time” each night as I feverishly typed away.

I also hope you continue to read the Bible each day.  If just one person will have gained a new habit of daily Bible study through this blog then I will have accomplished something important that made all the late nights and time away in my study worth it.  When I study the Bible, I feel like a kid in a candy store.  I find something that is particularly delicious and I can’t wait to tell everyone I know.  I’m glad to share that with all who read and I hope it’s been a blessing.

On a personal note, my thoughts about things have changed greatly in 2016.  It’s hard to describe just exactly how, but committing myself to daily reading and writing has forced me to deal with things that I’ve been happy to sweep under a rug in times past.  The site is called “thinking on these things” and I really did some thinking this year and I hope you did too.

Faith is messy.  It isn’t as clear cut as I once assumed it was.  Answers aren’t easy.  Paradoxes abound.  When I first began this, I believe I was writing as a confident evangelist – “Hey! Listen to me, I’ve got stuff figured out!” But as I write this today, I’m writing from a voice that says, “I’m trying to figure this faith thing out; here’s what I have so far.”

I’m not too proud to back up and admit error and I’m ok with asking questions that have a rippling effect.  God is far greater than my errors and far more merciful than my understanding will allow.

Speaking of the site, this will be the last post here.  The site is not cheap and I can work with a far less expensive model.  This site will remain up until mid-January at which time it will go dead and I will not attempt resuscitation.  I’m in the process of switching things over to a new site with a different mission and purpose than this one.  I will be journaling my way through theology, faith, prayer, and what it means to live in the Kingdom of God.  I will not be posting every day on a regular basis but neither am I opposed to it.  I hope you’ll follow it but I understand if you don’t want to.   The site is:

twoprongoutlet.wordpress.com

Grace and Peace,

Andy

For old time’s sake, here is another Eastern Orthodox prayer.  It’s fitting.

O Lord Jesus Christ, the only-begotten Son of the eternal Father, Thou hast said, “Without me you can do nothing.” In faith I embrace Thy words, O Lord, and bow before Thy goodness. Help me to complete the work I am about to begin for Thine own glory: in the Name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

Thou, O Christ, art Thyself the fulfillment of all good things! Fill my soul with joy and gladness, and save me, for Thou art all merciful.

