Resolutions stink, am I right?  Resolutions

How’s that diet coming 5 days in?

Last year, 2016, we made a resolution together to read the Bible through in “chronological” order.  It didn’t stink – it stuck.  Why?

In my estimation, it stuck, for many of us, because it wasn’t reading the Bible for the sake of reading the Bible.  The year-long study was devoted to knowing God with more vigor and substance that we did before.  In a sense, the study was dedicated to God as opposed to dedicated to our own sense of increased knowledge.

I don’t suppose that people who study the Bible for reasons not related to knowing God won’t learn about the Bible – they indeed will.  But I doubt whether or not they know its Author.  That’s what it’s all about.  Knowing God.   Full stop.

2017 Resolutions?

Since starting back to school, my time is taxed almost as harshly as my paycheck.  I can’t quite keep up with blogging every day, studying, reading, working, sleeping, and more importantly, my family.  This shouldn’t imply that the studying/writing is over.  It isn’t.

I will not call this a resolution just a keen interest – a plan if you will – but right now my interest lies in the first 300 years after Jesus – what I used to call “early Christianity”.  (I rather like first Christians now)  A few topics are of particular interest, however.  They are related to heresies in the church, the formation of the Canon of Scripture, and the development of a theology related to Mary the Mother of Jesus (Mariology) and more importantly what these may or may not have to do with teaching, worship, and Kingdom Living right now.  Here is a brief outline of my “planned” posts over the next few months.  In no particular order… (and quite possibly mixed up)

  1. Growing up in a conservative church of Christ, Mary was marginalized at best.  Why?
  2. Do we think about heresy in the same way as the first Christians did?
  3. Along those lines, do we think about Scripture like the first Christians did?
  4. What is the nature of an apostate church?  When did the church “apostatize”?  How would you tell?  Who decides?

I’m not a scholar on any of these things and I hope I don’t attempt to act like one.  What I do hope to do in the beginning, and maybe more, of 2017 is write about how some of these early issues in Christianity can help today’s Christians better understand God.  That’s what it’s all about, right?

May the Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious unto you,

Andy

 

